Flying Lotus – Cosmogramma LP

Flying Lotus must be the most arresting thing I’ve come across since 2008.  The first thing I heard was the remix he did for King Midas Sound, then the 2 x 3 EP and Los Angeles LP.  I’ve been trying to catch up ever since, getting my paws on the 1983 album and the Reset release, besides his production jobs for Reefer, John Robinson, and the Radiohead remix he did.  He interprets his dreams very very well.

When I drop his tunes at Txola, they are bigger that anything else I play.  He has nailed it in managing to produce music that comes not from left and right speakers, but they seem to occupy above, bottom, behind, in front as well as left and right.  And the sound system in Txola ain’t even that good!?….sorry Pedro, but you did ask me what I would like to see changed, and I did say get some bass-bins didn’t I?)

Anyway Mr. Lotus’ new album, Cosmogramma will drop first week of May, tracklisting reads as follows, and it’s good to see that Laura Darlington continues her association with him.  Also on this album, vocals from Thom Yorke.

Yes, that juvenile feeling of anticipation is moving through my veins, I love it.

01 Clock Catcher
02 Pickled!
03 Nose Art
04 Intro//A Cosmic Drama
05 Zodiac Shit
06 Computer Face//Pure Being
07 …And the World Laughs With You [ft. Thom Yorke]
08 Arkestry
09 Mmmhmm [ft.Thundercat]
10 Do the Astral Plane
11 Satelllliiiiiteee
12 German Haircut
13 Recoiled
14 Dance Of the Pseudo Nymph
15 Drips//Auntie’s Harp
16 Table Tennis [ft. Laura Darlington]
17 Galaxy in Janaki

While on the subject of speaker spazms, check out fellow Brainfeeder, Ras G, and his latest mix, available hear (sic).

Leave a comment