Archive for Virgin Records

Public Image Ltd – How We Made Metal Box

Posted in Art, Music with tags , , , , , , , on February 14, 2012 by Ear Conditioning

Jah Wobble and Keith Levine talked to The Guardian’s Dave Simpson about the environment that existed at the time of recording the album Metal Box

“Metal Box was created with instruments and notes, but no talking between us. It’s telepathy – Wobble and me just have that, even now. We don’t compose; we allow the music to happen. None of it was written before we went in the studio, but everybody had loads of ideas. We just said to the engineers, “Keep the red [recording] button on.” We made up Death Disco on the spot. Wobble had this bassline and I played Swan Lake over it. People thought I was classically trained, which was bollocks”.

Read article in full here

Update: News of new album by Public Image Ltd. See here, at Stool Pidgeon.  Listen to new track One Drop at this cloudspot

Spotted at thedailyswarm

Flying Lotus – The Daily Swarm Interview / Video for Erykah Badu

Posted in Art, Music with tags , , , , , on February 11, 2011 by Ear Conditioning

The Daily Swarm is run by a former Virgin collegue, Todd Roberts. He’s hip to it, believe. He’s been the editor at Urb, did An’R for Astrawlwerks and Virgin. Twice today i’ve checked some stuff on the ‘net and Todd’s there. Here now again, he sits down with Flying Lotus to shine the light on the man and his work. Enter via the click

This is the latest work from FlyLo, a video for Erykah Badu, ‘Gone Baby, Don’t Be Long’.

A World of Possibilties

Posted in Music, Radio with tags , , , , , , , , , , , on August 24, 2010 by Ear Conditioning

I reached out for some ambient movements this week.  As I put my hands on the second CD in the Virgin ‘Ambient’ series, and looked at the tracklisting, saw Robert Fripps’s contribution, and I recalled doing the press for a Robert Fripp / David Sylvian project that came out on Virgin Records back in the day.  When I met Robert he embarked on the story of how the man behind EG Records, had ripped off Robert and several other artists on the label.  For our next meeting, Robert came loaded with photocopies of all the documents relating to his case.  I don’t know how he carried them all to be honest, hundreds of pages of correspondence, legal papers, faxes, telexes, notes etc.  He is one serious dude.  When he does something, be it King Crimson, whatever, he doesn’t do things by halves.  Just noticed that he’s performed on a new work by Grinderman, i didn’t expect that one at all,  Mr. Fripp has no limits.  That is the vague theme of today’s program / mix, let it all out, live it, do what ya want.

Example, rapper/producer Oh No, and his Dr. No Ethiopium project.  Not what you would have expected.

Jneiro Jarel, he behind Shape of Broad Minds, doing exactly what he wants, no follow fashion.

Daedelus, the same, off on his own tanget.

Silkie, embracing a lot of music of the last 20 years to create his own vision of now and a possible future.

You get the picture.

Ear Conditioning 33 – A World of Possibilities

  • Daedelus / An Armada Approaches (Brainfeeder)
  • Oh No / Pardon Me (Stones Throw)
  • Oh No / Madness (Stones Throw)
  • Samiyam / Return (Hyperdub)
  • Foreign Beggars featuring Jesht & Kashmere – Om Unit Andromedan Battlemix
  • Robert Fripp / Water Music (Virgin)
  • CV313 / Subtraktive – King Midas Sound Remix
  • The Bug featuring Warrior Queen / Poison Dart – Skream Remix (Ninja Tune)
  • Silkie – Techno 22 (Deep Medi Musik)
  • S.U.A.D.  / Epeleptic – Martyn’s No Strobe Mix
  • Shape of Broad Minds / Raiders of the Lost Mix (Lex)
  • Voyager / Arrival (Underworld/Virgin)

Transmission: Tonight Sunhole dot net 22h00 London/Tenerife Time

Massive Attack – Splitting the atom EP

Posted in Music with tags , , , , on August 26, 2009 by Ear Conditioning


Easily one of the best moments of working at Virgin Records UK was being around when the first noises made by Massive Attack surfaced.
Some of us would stay late in the office, playing Daydreaming over and over and over again, trying to figure out what was that sound while passing the rizla. What is this music?

There weren’t a name for it yet, besides Massive Attack music.

The rest is history, however history does not stop, so here is the latest offering, a track from Splitting the atom EP, which is due out in October.

The title track features long-time collaborator Horace Andy.  Was that the faintest bit of AutoTune on Horace Andy’s voice?

The EP will also feature Tunde Adebimple of TV on the Radio on a recording titled ‘Pray for Rain’.  Martina Topley-Bird is also on a track.

Roll on October.

On a related issue (not to AutoTune),  man has heard that Burial and The Bug have been / are being  considered for a Massive Attack remix project.  “Rass” is all I can say really.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,960 other followers