The comments of the British Minister for Defence Liam Fox that Afghanistan is “a broken 13th-century country” fit neatly alongside the images and general information / propaganda that we have been consistantly fed over the last thirty years.  Mohammad Qayoumi, president of California State University, is from Afghanistan, and he has something to share with us, a photo essay over at the site of Foreign Policy:

“Stirred by the fact that news portrayals of the country’s history didn’t mesh with my own memories, I wanted to discover the truth. Through a colleague, I received a copy of the book (that he previously had) and recognized it as a time capsule of the Afghanistan I had once known — perhaps a little airbrushed by government officials, but a far more realistic picture of my homeland than one often sees today.”

I’d love to get my ears around some of them tunes on the shelves in the foto above, although could I assume not much local music?

(Spotted at Dangerous Minds)

Leave a Reply

