Guru 1966-2010

Just finished putting together this weeks transmission when the news of Guru’s passing came over the wire.  Man, Gangstarr had some joints.

Hip hop lost a great soldier.  Just read his last statement though, and man, regarding DJ Premier his former partner in Gang Starr, phew that shit’s harsh son.

“I do not wish my ex-DJ to have anything to do with my name likeness, events tributes etc. connected in anyway to my situation including any use of my name or circumstance for any reason and I have instructed my lawyers to enforce this. I had nothing to do with him in life for over 7 years and want nothing to do with him in death. Solar has my life story and is well informed on my family situation, as well as the real reason for separating from my ex-DJ.”

It’s a shame it went out like this.  That can’t be Guru writing that shit.

Solar’s productions didn’t grab anybody to be honest.  I ain’t seen a decent review of the latest album at all.  Heard several tracks and they were all on the lame side.

Thankfully we will always have Gang Starr to remind us of a great talent.

When Guru’s Jazzmatazz project came to Virgin, we had a couple promo trips to Holland, Belgium and France.  The Dutch promo trip was scheduled so we would arrive in Amsterdam on the Sunday, which mean’t not be in London for the Notting Hill Carnival.  That didn’t go down too well, as it was a day off, he thought we shoulda spent the day at the Carnival then head to Amsterdam the next morning.  A walk to Homegrown Fantasy soon  changed the mood

Thnks to the Guru for some good times and awkward ones as well, like when we were in Paris, seating me next to Herbie Hancock at dinner.  I could not say a thing.

It’s Herbie ‘fucking cool as fuck’ Hancock’, one of the few times I’ve been star-struck, damn.

The next day, checking out of the hotel, and one of the backing singers on the Jazzmatazz project, was having her luggage brought from her room, and all of a sudden the baggage man jumped about 10 feet and let out a yelp.

“Something is moving inside one of the suitcases!”

The singer, who shall remain nameless quickly moved to see what was going on.  Opened a suitcase and found the offending item.  It was the biggest vibrator I have ever seen.  Thing is, she didn’t flinch at all.  Funny as hell though.

Rest in Peace Keith, and may your family have plenty strength at this dreadful time.

Leave a Reply

