Mutamassik – The Making of ‘That which death cannot destroy’

Mutamassik has written about the circumstances that existed during the making of her latest album.  She tells it straight and comes proper, no pussy-footing around decorated with sugar and other additives.

The making of ‘That which death cannot destroy’, a studio tour into stabbing strings, thundering drums, howling conviction.  Going from a predominantly raw urban experience (see: childbirth on Medicaid in Brooklyn, many etcs.) to a raw, rough, rugged rural experience has taught me many things.

Let me give props where props are due:  A decade plus+ in the streets of New York City and Cairo cut my teeth; half that time in Nature, however, has kicked my ass.  Not just once, but continuously.  This has been a boot camp.  If inner city life made me hard, Nature made me harder.

During the making of my latest record, I was mostly wearing a parka, long johns, 2 pairs of socks, 2 sweatshirts, pants and a hat and every time I exhaled a condensed pulmonary fog clung to the air undisputed-by-modern-science measuring the harshness of the situation (I’d take the parka and hat off when I got sweaty on drums and cello).  I have to frequently cuddle my DAT which I record my masters onto to get it’s digi-electronic guts warm enough to function.

Go here for the full read and to download the album if you haven’t already.

A little bird told me she will return to Gothenborg this year for a follow up to her Clandestino Fstvl appearance of 2008.  More as it happens.

One thought on “Mutamassik – The Making of ‘That which death cannot destroy’

Leave a Reply

