6a00d8341c630a53ef0120a6044397970c-500wi

Photo:  What you see may not be real – Chen Wenling

As summer gives way to autumn, it’s only right to kick things off with Scanuppia, a track from latest album of recordings by Chris Watson. Here he records natural sounds in the Alpine region of Italy.  The results are very much of the forehead-raising variety, quite a surprise at what can be recorded in temperatures of -25 degrees. Great samples too! It sits well with my new find of the week,  James Blake / Air & Lack Thereof.  A seemingly gospel sample, ‘Calling heaven and hell’ sitting on a bed  of  electronic buzzes flying through the air, a whiplash snare, an inviting melody and bass.  Also on the bass tip this week is RDS, ‘Forward Youth’.  RSD is Rob Smith of Smith and Mighty fame, so you know it’s legit.

My rewind champions of the last couple of weeks, Obba Supa, recorded a Gilles Peterson radio session featuring music from Floating Points, and with seeing the name several times I had to check to see wha’ g’wan.  A day later in the inbox from the promo kings, All Young Kings, was the new ‘Vacuum’ ep from Floating Points, so I am sharing this with the listeners.  Hammond organ, skip hop beats,  jazz brushes, techno sensibilities  in one package.  Also more Obba of course.

Techno.  I love the original Detroit stuff like Mayday, Kevin Saunderson, moving onto Stacey Pullen, the European hijacking of Techno was natural to a degree, but on the whole, naff for my ears, and when somebody me says ‘Techno’ I get all weird.  Maybe because they generally mean that Euro shite.  Anyway, back to the goodness, Underground Resistance, well, I have to give them props 100%, even if I don’t like the majority of their tunes, I’ll buy ’em just to support them for their political stance.  I heard Codebreaker, and it was immediately in the crate.  Beeps, seeping gases, 909s, shakers percussion and gorgeous pads got me good.

Everytime, well, to be honest, three of the four times, that I’ve played Mulatu Astatke’s ‘Ebo Lala’ at my Txola sessions somebody has moved their lips in a way that makes me think they are saying “What is this?”  The thing with dj’ing with mp3s, is you can’t show them the cover.  Luckily I’m an old skool fucker, so I have the vinyl that I can show the cover while cueing up the next slab with my other hand (talented eh?)

Next Txola session is this Friday, entonces para ellos aqui en el norte de la isla o cerca, venga!  Did I tell you that Txola was listed in the El Pias newspaper as one of the best 50 clubs/bars in ‘Spain’?  If I didn’t, I just did.

Over to you.

Ear Conditioning – The left side of the brain

  • Chris Watson – Scanuppia (Sound Threshold)
  • Elixir – Trapdoor to another world (Quartermass)
  • James Blake – Air & lack thereof (Hemlock)
  • Fandango, Duende y Taraf – Title Unknown
  • Mulatu Astatke – Ebo Lala (Soundway)
  • Bebel Du Guetto – Beijo na Boca
  • Bulat Project – Title unknown
  • Onra – Last Tango in Saigon
  • Obba Supa – 2am but not (Project Moon Circle)
  • Guilty Jackson – Coroners Music (Stones Throw)
  • Dorian Concepts – Fort Teen (Kindred Spirits)
  • Underground Resistance – Codebreaker (UR)
  • RSD – Forward Youth (Punch Drunk)
  • Floating Points – Argonaut (Eglo)
  • Chris Watson – Cima Verde (Sound Threshold)

As usual, this weeks edition of Ear Conditioning is available at the following locations:

Tonight / esta noche (Tuesday / martes) 22h00 Sunhole (Repeated weekdays mornings at 11h00)

Thursday / jueves 23h00 Planet Radio

Leave a Reply

